The Official Karelia
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |About Karelia |Symbols   |Tourism |  Cooperation |

Karl Rautio (1889-1963)

The composer, one of the initiators of professional musical art in Karelia

Karl Rautio was born in Finland on November 20, 1889, in 1903 he has moved to America where he has worked at the mine and practised music: played, then supervised the miners' brass band, and graduated from the faculty of music of the University of California.

In 1922 he has moved to the USSR with the group of workers and Finnish intelligentsia of which members he has organized a chorus and an orchestra while being on the way. The same year the pedagogical technical school that has become the first in Karelia secondary educational institution teaching in Finnish has opened in Petrozavodsk, and Karl Rautio became the teacher of music there. He has created there the first in Karelia mixed chorus, two orchestras (one of them was teachers' only). These years Karl Rautio studies national music of Karelia, writes pieces of music notable for their bright national colour, and songs to the verses of Karelian poets.

In 1931 Karelian radio for the first time broadcasted music performed by the symphonic ensemble, which organizer and conductor was Karl Rautio. At his active participation the first musical school has opened in Petrozavodsk, and the ensemble of folk music Kantele has been reorganized; Karl Rautio became one of the organizers of the Union of Composers of Karelia which he had headed for seven years; after the Great Patriotic War he was the musical director of the Finnish Drama Theatre.

For his long-term creative life Karl Rautio has written over forty musical compositions for symphonic and brass orchestras, the kantele folk orchestra, some musical compositions for a quartet of bow instruments, music for nine performances of the Finnish Drama Theatre, many songs and arrangements of national melodies.

In the composer's personal fund there are 101 files that mostly contain musical manuscripts of his compositions without dates.

Technical support
Created: December 2, 2004. Last updated: January 18, 2005.
© State Committee of the RK for ICT Development, 1998-2015

Карелия официальная. Официальный портал органов государственной власти Республики Карелия
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |О Карелии |Символика   | Правовые акты |  Программы | Газета "Карелия" |Справочники |  
Карта портала Поиск Новое на сайте О портале
Раутио Карл Эрикович (1889-1963 г.)

Композитор, один из зачинателей профессионального музыкального искусства Карелии

Родился в Финляндии 20 ноября 1889 года, в 1903 г. уехал в Америку, где работал на шахте и одновременно занимался музыкой: играл, затем руководил шахтерским духовым оркестром, закончил музыкальный факультет Калифорнийского университета.

В 1922 г. переехал в СССР в составе группы рабочих и финской интеллигенции, из членов которой еще в пути организовал хор и оркестр. В том же году в Петрозаводске открылось первое в Карелии среднее учебное заведение на финском языке - педагогический техникум, в котором Карл Раутио стал преподавателем музыки. Здесь он создал первый в Карелии смешанный хор, два оркестра (один из них - только из преподавателей). В эти годы Карл Раутио изучает национальное музыкальное творчество Карелии, пишет музыкальные произведения, отмеченные ярким национальным колоритом, песни на стихи карельских поэтов.

В 1931 г. по Карельскому радио впервые зазвучала музыка в исполнении симфонического ансамбля, организатором и дирижером которого был Карл Раутио. При его активном участии в Петрозаводске открылось первое музыкальное училище, был реорганизован ансамбль национальных музыкальных инструментов "Кантеле"; Карл Раутио стал одним из организаторов и в течение семи лет возглавлял Союз композиторов Карелии; после Великой Отечественной войны работал музыкальным руководителем Финского драматического театра.

За свою многолетнюю творческую жизнь Карл Раутио написал свыше сорока произведений для симфонического и духового оркестра, оркестра национальных инструментов - кантеле, несколько произведений для квартета смычковых инструментов, музыку к девяти спектаклям Финского драматического театра, большое количество песен и обработок народных мелодий.

В личном фонде композитора хранится 101 дело, в основном недатированные нотные рукописи его произведений.

Национальный архив Республики Карелия

Техническая поддержка портала
Создано 2 декабря 2004. Отредактировано 2 декабря 2004.
© Администрация Главы Республики Карелия, 1998-2018
При использовании материалов гиперссылка на портал обязательна.