The Official Karelia
  Русская версияEnglish versionSuomalainen versio
  |About Karelia |Symbols   |Tourism |  Cooperation |

A Presidential Decree assigned three regions of Karelia to the Arctic Zone of Russia

On June 27, 2017, Vladimir Putin, the President of Russia signed a decree that assigned the Belomorsk, Louhi and Kem regions of Karelia to the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation.

The proposals of the Government of Karelia on inclusion of the northern regions of Karelia in the Arctic Zone of Russia were drafted and supported by the State Commission on Preparation for the 100th anniversary of the Republic of Karelia headed by Nikolai Patrushev, the Secretary of the Russian Security Council.

According to Artur Parfenchikov, the Acting Head of Karelia, the approval of the country's initiative by the President demonstrates the attention of the Head of Russia to the development of our region.

“The assignment of the three regions of Karelia to the Arctic Zone creates new conditions for their social and economic development. The State sees the problems faced by people in the north of Karelia, and offers tools for their solution. This is good news for the Republic, and we must make full use of this opportunity to improve the quality of life in the Louhi, Kem and Belomorsk regions.

Technical support
Created: June 29, 2017. Last updated: June 29, 2017.
© State Committee of the RK for ICT Development, 1998-2015